Gill and Simon had a fun filled celebration at Warwick House

Gill and Simon first met in Bognor Regis in 2001. “Simon was visiting for work,” says Gill. “He was staying at my local pub, and we got chatting over a game of pool. He was only due to stay for one more night, so we made plans to go into town that evening. The next day instead of heading home, he decided to stay. We remained in contact for several months over the phone, and in December of that year, a bunch of beautiful lilies were delivered to the travel agency where I worked. I realised then that he’d been thinking of me and how kind and thoughtful he was. We continued to have a long- distance romance for the next three years, travelling 160 miles either way at every opportunity we had. We quite often got up at 4:30am on a Monday morning to travel home for work so we could have a few more hours together. I decided to move to Warwick in 2005, and we’ve since moved to Leamington.”

A few months after moving, Simon proposed to Gill. “We went for a chilly wander around Warwick on the 23rd December picking up a few last-minute Christmas presents,” shares the bride. “Simon said he had somewhere he wanted to go and pulled by my hand until we were outside Russell Lane Jewellers. He proposed to me outside and then took in to collect the ring he had already purchased. I was so surprised I didn’t even put it on, and as we went for a celebratory drink it was still in its box! We were able to share the happy news with our friends and family the next day on Christmas Eve. We went on to have a 13-year engagement and had two beautiful daughters in that time. It was lovely to return to Russell Lane all those years later to purchase our wedding rings.”

Gill and Simon's contacts

Venue, Warwick House, www.warwickhouse.co.uk
Photographer, Esme Fletcher Photography, www.esmefletcher.co.uk 
Videographer, Two Towers Media, www.twotowersmedia.co.uk 
Bride's dress, Serendipity Brides, www.serendipitybrides.co.uk
Bride's hair comb, Emma Rose Bridal Accessories, www.emmarosecreations.co.uk 
Earrings, Liberty in Love, www.libertyinlove.co.uk 
Bride's shoes and bridesmaids' dresses, Bea's Bridal Studio, www.beasbridal.co.uk 
Make- up artist, Bryony Dalton, www.bryonydalton.com 
Groom's suit, Peter Posh, www.peterposh.co.uk 
Cake, Cake Actually, www.cakeactually.co.uk 
Flowers, Jacqueline The Florist, www.jacquelinetheflorist.co.uk 
Stationery, Pure Invitation, www.pureinvitation.co.uk 
Mini-moon, The Welcombe Hotel, www.bestwestern.co.uk

Tweet
Share on Facebook
 

Amy and Daniel had a seasonal celebration at the grand Ettington Park Hotel

Amy and Daniel met through a mutual friend at university. "We quickly...

Inspiration from our great team of Editors at County Wedding Magazines!

To help you find inspiration for your big day, take a look at what's caught the eye of our editors.

There are literally hundreds of ideas, products and services from wedding suppliers across the UK along with links to their web sites as pointed out by our ever resourceful team.

Take a look at what our Editors Love!